Evaluation

For my final piece I have created a tryptic of 3 digital edits. Each edit is of a different vocalist from a band I listen to.

 In my proposal it states that I will create a final piece going down the digital/graphics/photo based route and it will be based around music. So by doing this,I have related back to my proposal and followed it through. 

I created my final piece by firstly,using illustrator to go over the out line of the vocalist,this was just a basic outline over the faded template. For this I used the photographs I had taken of them myself at previous gigs I had been to. I then experimented and changed the colour of the line multiple times. I changed it to mainly bright and vibrant colours as I planned to have an edited dulled black and white photograph in the background,so the bright colours would stand out. I then went into photoshop,opened the image I was working from and added multiple filters over the top to see which I preferred. I then layered the bright outline over the dull image and made it slightly offset. I did this with all 3.

Next I started looking into typography and graphic artists who emerge text with photos. I collected a few images I liked and used them to inspire me to layer text over my digital edits. I used a causal font as on one of David Carsons pieces he does and it sits well.. it isn’t too bold,but it isn’t plain. The 2nd designer I looked at inspired me to put my text into a bright font,as themselves used a bright font,over a photograph of a person which is similar to what I was doing. I then repeated this for the following 2 edits. 

I decided to go forward with the digital side of art as it is an area that I am most comfortable with,also I have a genuine interest for it as I have used photoshop and illustrator throughout school,also I am good at it. In my proposal it states I was going to go forward down this route. 

Overall I am pleased with how my final piece has turned out,as it follows my proposal and as from the start I knew I wanted to do a digital outcome and I have. It relates to my theme of the music industry which is something I am passionate about. My favourite aspect of it is the fact that each edit is a different colour based and slightly more offset,also that each edit is a different person,as originally I planned to do 3 of the same. This way I think it’s more interesting to look at and not as repetitive. There is nothing I would necessarily changed,but If I was too do this again,I would try more complex images and try too add abit more detail and see what it would look like. 

Leave a Reply

